Astrology can be summed up as the belief that the alignment of our sun and various constellations in transit affects our lives on a fundamental level. This belief originated roughly 2000 years before the common era.

Now, astronomically speaking, a few millennia is chump change – but it does make a difference.

Today, the night sky looks very different than it did back when astrologers first plotted out the zodiac signs. Because of this, astronomers at the Minnesota Planetarium have shifted the zodiac calendar roughly one month forward.

They’ve also added a 13th sign. Yup, that’s right.

The sun actually passes through 13 constellations. Early astronomers knew this but for some reason, likely an aversion to the odd number ’13,’ they decided to ignore that fact.

This all has massive implications for many of us; 86% of all people are living under the wrong sign.

Is your head spinning yet? Don’t worry; by the end of this article, you’ll know your true sign and exactly what all of these updates mean for you.

The New Dates


First, let’s take a look at the 13 new Β zodiac dates.

  • Capricorn: January 20 – February 16
  • Aquarius: February 16 – March 11
  • Pisces: March 11 – April 18
  • Aries: April 18 – May 13
  • Taurus: May 13 – June 21
  • Gemini: June 21 – July 20
  • Cancer: July 20 – August 10
  • Leo: August 10 – September 16
  • Virgo: September 16 – October 30
  • Libra: October 30 – November 23
  • Scorpio: November 23 – November 29
  • Ophiuchus: November 29 – December 17
  • Sagittarius: December 17 – January 20

It’s important to note that each of the 12 preexisting signs retains its meaning. Below you’ll find a brief refresher for each.

Capricorns tend to be very active, ambitious thinkers. Aquarians are independent and stubborn; they don’t care what others think about them. Those born when the sun is in Pisces are usually very sensitive and reserved introverts. Arians possess great courage and enthusiasm. They tend to be very goal-oriented. Taureans fight for what they want. They can be procrastinators but, when motivated, they’ll work tirelessly. Geminis tend to be extroverted social butterflies with talkative, energetic spirits.

Cancers can be very inconsistent and unpredictable. They go where their hearts lead in all situations. In some scenarios, they may be adventurous and in others, reserved. Leos have very high self-esteem. They are also very kind and generous. Virgos are very analytical, both in technical pursuits and their social lives. Libras tend to be very diplomatic and hardworking with expensive taste. Scorpios are intense friends, family members and lovers. They spare no expense to protect and care for loved ones.

Ophiuchus comes next, but we’ll explore that sign thoroughly in a moment.

Saggitarians maintain a very positive outlook on life. They have bright personalities that attract others.

Of course, the points above are just brief summaries. I highly recommend taking a look at our many other pieces on zodiac signs for more detailed descriptions.



The constellation of Ophiuchus appears as a man grasping a large snake. In Greek mythology, Ophiuchus represents Aesculapius – the son of Apollo and god of medicine.

Aesculapius became so strongly associated with medicine that the Hippocratic oath – which still binds physicians to this day – was created in honor of his rumored descendant Hippocrates.

Those born under the sign Ophiuchus remain true to these healing characteristics. They are highly empathetic, caring individuals. Here are a few more characteristics:

  • Passion for justice
  • Intelligent
  • Passionate
  • Selfless
  • Trustworthy
  • Rebellious
  • Private
  • Truth-seeking

Tying It All Together

So, in this post you learned that the zodiac signs have all shifted forward. If you’ve ever wondered why many parts of your sign’s description don’t apply to you, this could explain that. I encourage you to take a look at your new sign; you’ll likely find it more fitting.

In this post, you also learned about the new 13th sign Ophiuchus and what it means for those who fall under it. This new sign likely captures any stray characteristics that had not been covered by previous astrology theories.

Have a look at this video for some more information on these changes:

So, what do you make of all this? Do you feel your new astrological sign describes you better? Do you fall under the category of Ophiuchus? Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments!